Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Bitumen / Cleareye Shining LP Vinyl
On Sale

Bitumen / Cleareye Shining LP Vinyl

Regular price

Bitumen 'Cleareye Shining' LP Vinyl

Heavy Machinery Records is delighted to announce Cleareye Shining, the savage sophomore LP from Melbourne post-punk outfit Bitumen.

The driving, metallic barrage of Bitumen’s signature sound is present within this track, aggrandized by dramatic synths, acoustic guitar and layered vocals. Out Of Athens is a song about “the indignity of unreciprocated love, being on holiday, and the comedy inherent in experiencing a personal romantic tragedy against a backdrop of sweetness, light and maybe even disco”.

Most of the songs on Cleareye Shining were in the embryonic stages when the pandemic hit, forcing the band to move away from attempting to capture a live sound and lean into making a cleaner studio album. Crafting nine individual songs each with its own character and internal logic, Bitumen took a precise and restrained approach, allowing the album room to explore breakbeats, piano, acoustic guitars and more intimate vocal work. Lyrically, Cleareye Shining sees shadowy figures in the throes of loving, lusting, plotting and fantasising. The result is 80s maximalism meets 90s industrial-electro. Robocop meets Basic Instinct. Always intense, always dramatic, and always demanding of your attention.


A1 Paint And Draw
A2 Moving Now Now Now
A3 Colosseum
A4 Out Of Athens
A5 Put Down My Name

B1 With Intention
B2 Spun Gold Heaving
B3 Envelopes Full
B4 Luxury Auto